Skip to main content Skip to footer
Women's Volleyball Earns No. 2 Seed in NCAA Tournament

Follow PSU Women's Volleyball:    

Head coach Russ Rose

Dec. 1, 2013

2013 NCAA Tournament Bracket Get Acrobat Reader I 2013 NCAA Tournament

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. - The 2013 Big Ten Champion Penn State women's volleyball team (28-2, 19-1) earned the No. 2 seed in the 2013 NCAA Tournament. The Nittany Lions are set to host Northeast Conference champion LIU Brooklyn (23-7) Friday, Dec. 6 at 7:30 p.m. in Rec Hall.

Yale (20-4), the four-time defending Ivy League champion will take on Utah (20-12), who is making its first NCAA tournament appearance since 2008, Friday, Dec. 6 at 5 p.m. in Rec Hall. The winners of each contest will square off Saturday, Dec. 7 at 7:30 p.m. in Rec Hall.

"We are thankful that Penn State put in a bid for us to host the opening two rounds and we are excited for the tournament," said head coach Russ Rose. "Our hope is that the competitive nature of the Big Ten season prepares you for the demands of the tournament."

The Nittany Lions will enter the matchup fresh off its 16th conference title and 10th in the last 11 years. With a 77-26 all-time record in the NCAA Tournament, Penn State has totaled 10 trips to the National Semifinals ('93, '94, '97, '98, '99, '07, '08, '09, '10, '12), seven appearances in the NCAA title match ('93, '97, '98, '99, '07, '08, '09, '10) and five National Championships ('99, '07, '08, '09, '10).

All-session tickets for the 2013 NCAA Tournament first and second rounds at Penn State will go on sale Monday, Dec. 2nd at 10 a.m. All-session tickets are priced at $12 for adults and $10 for students and youth ages 12 and under. Groups of 20 or more may purchase tickets at a discounted rate of $8.

Fans can purchase tickets by calling 1-800 -NITTANY or by visiting the Athletics Ticket Office in the Bryce Jordan Center from 10 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Single-match tickets will only be sold at the door the night of each match. Tickets are $8 for adults and $6 for students and youth ages 12 and under. Doors will open at 4 p.m. Friday, Dec. 6th and 6 p.m. Saturday, Dec. 7th.

Additionally, 300 free all-session tickets will be available for Penn State students on a first come, first served basis, courtesy of the Penn State women's volleyball booster club. Free admission will be granted to the first 300 students entering the match on Friday and Saturday.

In the 64-team field where only the top 16 teams are seeded, Penn State is joined by Big Ten opponents No. 8 Nebraska, Purdue, No. 13 Illinois, No. 12 Wisconsin, No. 10 Minnesota, Michigan State and Michigan.

Penn State is one of two teams, with Stanford being the other team, to be selected as a participant in all 32 NCAA postseason events since its inception in 1981. Including this year, the Nittany Lions have had the opportunity to host the opening two rounds of the NCAA Tournament 26 times since 1981 and will welcome a pair of first and second round teams to the court in Rec Hall for the 24th consecutive year.

PSU is 27-5 all-time in opening matches of the NCAA Tournament, having knocked out Binghamton in its most recent first round outing in 2012. Penn State has not lost a first round contest since 1989, when the Nittany Lions fell to Illinois in straight sets. Since the loss, the Nittany Lions have not surrendered a single set to a first round opponent, having posted sweeps in its last 23 consecutive first-round victories.

The winner of the Penn State first and second round NCAA site will advance to the Lexington Regional on Friday and Saturday Dec. 13-14th in Lexington, KY. The Penn State site winner will take on the site winner from Lexington, KY., which features No. 15 seed Kentucky, Duquesne, Ohio and Michigan State. The other Regional Semifinal matches will feature the winner of the Minneapolis, Minn site (No. 10 Minnesota, Radford, Colorado and Iowa State) and the winner of the Stanford, Calif. site (No. 7 Stanford, Hampton, Alabama and Oklahoma).

The winners from each of the four Regional sites (Los Angeles, Calif., Lexington, KY., Champaign, Ill. and Omaha, Neb.) advance to the NCAA Semifinals, which will be held Thursday, Dec. 19 in Seattle, Wash. at Key Arena.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago