Skip to main content Skip to footer
Eighteen Swimmers Receive Scholar All-America Honors

Follow PSU Swimming & Diving:    

Matt Salig

July 15, 2014

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa.; July 15, 2014 - Eighteen members of the Penn State men's and women's swimming and diving teams have been named College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) Scholar All-Americans, it was announced. Six members of the women's program received first team honors. The women also earned the Team Scholar All-America award.

Alyson Ackman (Montreal, Quebec), Mackenzie Powers (Sycamore, Ill.), Gabi Shishkoff (Franklin, Mass.), Megan Siverling (Chester Springs, Pa.), Katelyn Sowinski (Severna Park, Md.) and Chelsea Weedman (Poway, Calif.) each were named to the first team. Carolyn Fittin (Sea Girt, N.J.), Casey Francis (East Meadow, N.Y.), Meredith Harbison (Butler, Pa.), Caitlyn Karr (Reading, Pa.), Stefanie Schmidt (Victoria, British Columbia), Haley Sinatro (West Hartford, Conn.), Megan Springsteen (Owego, N.Y.) and Chelsea VanderWeele (Silver Spring, Md.) each earned honorable mention honors. The 14 selections for the women is a program record.



On the men's side, Shane Austin (Kennett Square, Pa.), Scott Heil (New Brunswick, N.J.), Matt Salig (Downingtown, Pa.) and Andrew Schuehler (Camden, N.J.) garnered honorable mention accolades.

Ackman, Powers, Siverling and Shishkoff each earned individual All-America honors at the NCAA Championships in 2014.

The Scholar All-America award is presented to college and university swimmers and divers who have achieved a cumulative or term grade point average (GPA) of 3.5 or higher for the academic term coinciding with their respective NCAA/NAIA/NJCAA/CCCAA Swimming and Diving Championships and have qualified for and competed at the Championship.

The Honorable Mention Scholar All-America award is presented to college and university swimmers and divers who have achieved a GPA of 3.5 or higher for the semester, or cumulative average, and have achieved a "B" time standard but did not qualify or compete in their respective national championship. Divers qualify by competing at their respective championship qualifying meets, zones or NCAA preliminary rounds.

The Spring Team Scholar All-America award is presented to college and university swimming and diving teams who have achieved a grade point average of 3.0 or higher in the semester/quarter coinciding with the NCAA/NAIA/NJCAA/CCCAA Swimming and Diving Championships.

Founded in 1922, the CSCAA is the oldest professional organization of college coaches in America. The CSCAA is dedicated to serving and providing leadership for the advancement of the sport of swimming and diving at the collegiate level.


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago