Skip to main content Skip to footer
S&D Concludes Ohio State Winter Invite

Follow PSU Swimming & Diving:    

Feb. 11, 2018


Follow Penn State Swim & Dive

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Select members of the Penn State men’s and women’s swimming & diving teams completed competition at the Ohio State Winter Invitational Sunday in McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion.

Heather MacDougall paced the women’s team with a pair of top-two finishes, winning the 200 individual medley in a personal-best 2:01.63, just four-hundredths of a second shy of the NCAA B-cut standard, and placing runner-up in the 200 free in a season-best 1:49.00. Following MacDougall for Penn State in the 200 free A-finals were Elizabeth Gaspari in fourth (1:50.50) and Cara Treble in ninth (1:54.38).

The Nittany Lion women also had three A-finalists in the 200 breast, led by Annalee Johnson with a third-place finish in 2:18.92. She was joined in the top-10 by Carly Fried (2:22.72) and Erika Marlin (2:27.26).

Highlighting the men’s efforts on Sunday were a pair of third-place finishes. John Nunez took bronze in the 200 free in a season-best 1:40.30, while Dale Johnson did the same in the 200 IM in a personal-best 1:53.37. Additionally, Brad Johnson placed 10th in the 50 free in 21.17 seconds.

On Saturday, Gaspari led the women with a second-place finish in the 500 freestyle in a personal-best 4:54.34, and she was followed in the event by Amber Glenn in fourth place (4:58.06).

MacDougall also cracked the top four, placing fourth in the 100 free in 50.51 seconds. The Nittany Lions then placed three in the A-final of the 100 breaststroke, led by Annalee Johnson in fifth (1:03.89), Fried in eighth (1:05.10) and Marlin in 10th (1:07.03.) Kyra Manson also placed sixth in the 100 fly (56.67).

Nunez led the men’s effort with a fourth-place finish in the 500 free in a season-best 4:31.47. Dale Johnson made a pair of A-finals, placing eighth in the 100 fly (50.98) and 10th in the 100 back (53.08), and his twin brother Brad Johnson was eighth in the 100 breast (55.88) and won the B-final in the 100 free (46.47).

Teams competing included Cincinnati, Cleveland State, Eastern Michigan, IUPUI, Kentucky, Miami (OH), Notre Dame, Ohio State, University of the Pacific, Pittsburgh and Purdue. There was no team scoring. Penn State sent nine women and three men.

The Big Ten Championships are next. Ohio State is hosting the women's championships Feb. 14-17, while Minnesota is hosting the men's championships Feb. 21-24.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago