Skip to main content Skip to footer
Ten Nittany Lions Earn All-Big Ten Honors

Follow PSU Women's Soccer:    

Christine Nairn was named to the All-Big Ten First Team for a third straight year on Tuesday.

Nov. 1, 2011

PARK RIDGE, Ill. - The Nittany Lion women's soccer team brought home 10 All-Big Ten accolades on Tuesday. Sophomore sensation Maya Hayes (West Orange, N.J.) was named Big Ten Forward of the Year and was joined by three other Penn State members on the All-Big Ten First Team.

Hayes, who has trumped the country in goals (25) and points (58), earned her first All-Big Ten honor and is Penn State's fourth "Offensive" Player of the Year, the last since Katie Schoepfer in 2009. The conference added separate winners for each position this season (forward, midfielder, defender and goalkeeper). Hayes earned four conference Offensive Player of the Week awards this season.

Junior midfielder Christine Nairn (Arnold, Md.) was named to the All-Big Ten First Team for the third straight year and was joined by two first-time first-team honorees in senior midfielder Ali Schaefer (Las Vegas, Nev.) and junior defender Lexi Marton (Aurora, Ontario). Marton was a 2009 second-team member and unanimous All-Freshman selection. Penn State earned the most spots on the All-Big Ten First Team with four nods.

Three PSU student-athletes were named to the All-Big Ten Second Team as sophomore striker Taylor Schram (Canonsburg, Pa.) and graduate student goalkeeper Erin McNulty (Winnipeg, Manitoba) garnered their first All-Big Ten laurels. Senior defender Emma Thomson (Nottinghamshire, England) landed on the second team for the second straight year.



A trio of Nittany Lions were honored on the All-Big Ten Freshman Team as defender Kori Chapic (Novelty, Ohio), midfielder Emily Hurd (Sammamish, Wash.) and midfielder Whitney Church (Ashburn, Va.) took three of the 11 spots.

Senior goalkeeper Krissy Tribbett (Centennial, Colo.) was Penn State's representative of the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award.

The 14-time defending regular-season champions enter the Big Ten Tournament on Wednesday as the conference's top seed taking on host Northwestern at 5:30 p.m. ET. The match will be streamed live on with live stats through GameTracker.

Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year Maya Hayes

All-Big Ten First Team
Maya Hayes
Lexi Marton
Christine Nairn
Ali Schaefer

All-Big Ten Second Team
Erin McNulty
Taylor Schram
Emma Thomson

All-Big Ten Freshman Team
Kori Chapic
Emily Hurd
Whitney Church

Big Ten Sportsmanship Award
Krissy Tribbett

For complete coverage of Penn State women's soccer, please visit

Follow Penn State women's soccer on Twitter: @PSUWomensSoccer.

Follow Penn State women's soccer on Facebook:

Check Penn State's YouTube page: YouTube/GoPSUTV.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago