No. 24 Women's Soccer Voted by Coaches to Win Big Ten

Follow PSU Women's Soccer:    

Aug. 13, 2014

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa.; Aug. 13, 2014 - The No. 24 Penn State women's soccer team has been tabbed to win the Big Ten regular season title, according to the 2014 Big Ten Women's Soccer Preseason Coaches' Poll released today. Wisconsin and Maryland earned the second- and third-most votes, respectively.

Three players from each Big Ten team were named Big Ten Women's Soccer Preseason Players to Watch, with senior Emily Hurd (Sammamish, Wash.) and juniors Mallory Weber (Novi, Mich.) and Raquel Rodriguez (San Jose, Costa Rica) representing the Blue and White. This is Rodriguez's second-straight appearance on the Preseason Players to Watch list.

The Nittany Lions appeared in their 19th-straight NCAA Tournament in 2013, closing out the season with a 15-7-1 overall record. The team returns eight-of-11 starters for the 2014 campaign, including NSCAA All-Great Lakes third team honorees Weber and Rodriguez, two of their top five scorers from a season ago. Weber notched seven goals and eight assists in 2013 and earned first team All-Big Ten honors in the process. Costa Rica Women's National Team member Rodriguez added six goals and a team-high nine assists in her sophomore campaign. Two-year team captain Hurd was fifth in conference play with four assists last season, starting 22-of-23 games for 1,584 minutes on the pitch.

The Nittany Lions have sat atop the poll every season since the poll began in 2003. They begin the quest for their 16th Big Ten title and 20th consecutive NCAA Tournament berth with the Penn State Invitational on August 22 at 7:30 p.m. against No. 12 West Virginia.

1. Penn State
2. Wisconsin
3. Maryland
4. Nebraska
5. Michigan
6. Ohio State
7. Illinois
T8. Iowa
T8. Rutgers
10. Indiana
11. Minnesota
12. Michigan State
13. Northwestern
14. Purdue

Jannelle Flaws, Illinois, Sr., Forward
Taylore Peterson, Illinois, Jr., Midfield
Aliina Weykamp, Illinois, Jr., Defense/Midfield
Tori Keller, Indiana, Sr., Midfield
Abby Smith, Indiana, Sr., Midfield
Veronica Ellis, Indiana, So., Midfield
Melanie Pickert, Iowa, Sr., Defense
Cloe Lacasse, Iowa, Sr., Forward
Caitlin Brown, Iowa, Sr., Defense
Aubrey Baker, Maryland, Jr., Midfield
Rachelle Beanlands, Maryland, Jr., Goalkeeper
Cory Ryan, Maryland, Sr., Midfield
Madisson Lewis, Michigan, So., Midfield/Forward
Nicky Waldeck, Michigan, So., Forward
Ani Sarkisian, Michigan, Fr., Midfield/Forward
Mary Kathryn Fiebernitz, Michigan State, Jr., Defense
Paige Wester, Michigan State, Sr., Forward
Megan Marsack, Michigan State, Sr., Midfield
Katie Thyken, Minnesota, Sr., Midfield
Tarah Hobbs, Minnesota, So., Goalkeeper
Josee Stiever, Minnesota, So., Midfield
Jaycie Johnson, Nebraska, So., Forward
Mayme Conroy, Nebraska, Sr., Forward
Caroline Gray, Nebraska, Sr., Midfield
Niki Sebo, Northwestern, Jr., Midfield
Margo McGinty, Northwestern, Jr., Defense/Midfield
Jackie Alyinovich, Northwestern, Sr., Defense
Nichelle Prince, Ohio State, So., Forward
Kayla Varner, Ohio State, Sr., Forward
Nikki Walts, Ohio State, Fr., Midfield
Emily Hurd, Penn State, Sr., Midfield
Mallory Weber, Penn State, Jr., Forward
Raquel Rodriguez, Penn State, Jr., Forward/Midfield

Mollie Kuramoto, Purdue, Sr., Midfield
Taylor Niewoit, Purdue, Sr., Midfield
Alex Hairston, Purdue, Sr., Forward
Madison Tiernan, Rutgers, So., Midfield
Erica Skroski, Rutgers, Jr., Defense Stef Scholz, Rutgers, Sr., Forward
Rose Lavelle, Wisconsin, So., Midfield/Forward
Cara Walls, Wisconsin, Sr., Forward
Genevieve Richard, Wisconsin, Sr., Goalkeeper




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago