Skip to main content Skip to footer
Penn State's Weimer Just Misses In M.A.C. Hermann Trophy Balloting

Follow PSU Women's Soccer:    

STATE COLLEGE, Pa., January 7, 2005 - In her second-straight year in the running for the M.A.C. Hermann Trophy, junior forward Tiffany Weimer (North Haven, Conn.) narrowly missed being named the 2004 Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy winner, as Portland's Christine Sinclair took home the 2004 award for women's collegiate soccer player of the year. The award was presented at a banquet ceremony tonight in St. Louis, Mo., at the Missouri Athletic Club.

Weimer's selection as a player of the year finalist marks the fifth time in five years that a Nittany Lion has won the coveted honor. Christie Welsh remains the only Lion ever to win player of the year honors when she captured the 2001 M.A.C. Hermann Trophy. Welsh also finished second in 2000 and '02, as did Joanna Lohman in 2003.

A two-time first team All-American, Weimer, this year's Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year, was fourth in the nation in goal-scoring with a 1.13 goals per game average and was second in scoring with a 2.78 points per game average. The Lions' go-to weapon all season, her 26 goals were the most by any Division I player this year. Weimer scored in 20-of-23 games for the Lions and at one point had a 13-game goal-scoring streak going, just two away from tying the NCAA mark. Weimer's 26 goals were just one off the Penn State school record mark held by Welsh. Coupled with 12 assists this year, she accumulated 64 points, third-best in Penn State history. She started every game the Nittany Lions and put .637% of the shots she took on goal. A six-time recipient of Big Ten Offensive Player of the Week this year, she scored six game winners for the Lions.

North Carolina's Heather O'Reilly was the other finalist for this year's award.

The Nittany Lions finished their season with a 19-3-1 record and earned a program-high No. 2 seed in the NCAA Tournament. Penn State's season came to a close when they were edged 1-0 by Maryland in the NCAA Tournament second round at Jeffrey Field on Nov. 14.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago