Skip to main content Skip to footer
Gillian Rattray to be Honored by US Lacrosse

Follow PSU Women's Lacrosse:    

Oct. 20, 2017

SPARKS, Md.  – Former Penn State women’s lacrosse coach Gillian Rattray will be honored with a plaque along Chris Sailer Trail at the U.S. Lacrosse Headquarters during a special U.S. Lacrosse Trailblazers dedication on Saturday, October 21 during the Princeton Invitational, a four-team fall ball event.

The IWLCA selected 11 former collegiate coaches to celebrate as trailblazers of the game and each will have a special plaque dedicated in their name. Each coach demonstrated exceptional work in advancing women’s lacrosse and the coaching profession during the Title IX era.

Admission to the event is free of charge

Rattray spent 12 seasons as the head coach of the Penn State women’s lacrosse team from 1974-1985 compiling a 143-19-2 record and winning three consecutive national championships from 1978-1980. Rattray was also a vital part in organizing the first collegiate women’s lacrosse championships in 1982.

Rattray led Penn State to a winning record every season she was at the helm including the program’s only two undefeated seasons in 1978 and 1979. With the inception of postseason play in 1978, Rattray led the Nittany Lions to the postseason in each of her final eight seasons as head coach.

 Rattray coached 28 All-Americans during her 12 seasons including a program record six First-Team All-Americans during the 1984 season. Of those 28, Rattray coached two of PSU’s three four-time All-American’s in Marsha Florio ’85 and Candy Finn ’82 who remain first and second on Penn State’s all-time scoring list with 380 and 334 points, respectively.

Rattray also coached the field hockey team for 13 seasons compiling a 176-49-21 record and winning back-to-back national titles in 1980 and 1981. Rattray was recognized by the Guinness Book of Sports Records as she won two national championships in the same calendar year when her women’s lacrosse and field hockey teams captured the 1980 National Championship just six months apart during their respective seasons. Rattray was inducted into the National Field Hockey Coaches Association Hall of Fame as part of the class of 2004.






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago