Lady Lions Announce Big Ten Schedule

Follow PSU Women's Basketball:    

Aug. 21, 2014

2014-15 Lady Lion Basketball Schedule

UNIVERSITY PARK, PA. - The three-time defending Big Ten Champion Penn State Lady Lions have revealed their 2014-15 Big Ten Conference schedule. The Lady Lions will begin their quest for a fourth consecutive Big Ten regular-season title at Iowa on Sun., Dec. 28. Additionally, the Lady Lions will host the Ninth Annual Pink Zone at Penn State on Sun., Mar. 1 against Wisconsin. Penn State has raised more than one million dollars in the fight against breast cancer through their first eight Pink Zone events.

After visiting the Hawkeyes, Penn State will travel to Michigan for a New Year's Day matchup before returning home to the BJC to host Illinois on Sun., Jan. 4. The Lady Lions are back on the road at Wisconsin on Tues., Jan. 6, followed by a home game against Big Ten newcomer Rutgers on Sat., Jan. 10.

Penn State is back on the road for a two-game stint at Nebraska on Thurs., Jan. 15 and Ohio State on Sun., Jan. 18. The Lady Lions are back in the BJC to face Indiana (Thurs., Jan. 15) and Ohio State (Sun., Jan. 18) before returning to the road for back-to-back games at Minnesota (Wed., Jan. 28) and Rutgers (Sun., Feb. 1).

The Lady Lions square off against the other Big Ten newcomer Maryland in the BJC on Thurs., Feb. 5 and then hit the road to visit Purdue on Sun., Feb. 8. Penn State closes the Big Ten slate with four home games in their last five contests, beginning with Michigan State on Wed., Feb. 11 and Minnesota on Sun., Feb. 15. After visiting Maryland on Mon., Feb. 23, the Lady Lions host Ohio State (Thurs., Feb. 26) and Wisconsin (Sun., Mar. 1) to end the regular season.

The Lady Lions previously announced their non-conference schedule that begins with an exhibition game against IUP and former Lady Lion Kelly Mazzante on Sunday, Nov. 2. The Lady Lions will play at least three games as a participant in the Preseason WNIT, beginning with the opening round game against Towson on Friday, Nov. 14. The second round game will take place on Sunday, Nov. 16, followed by the third game of the tournament on Thursday, Nov. 20. If the Lady Lions advance to the Preseason WNIT championship game, they will host the contest on Sunday, Nov. 23.

Penn State continues the season-opening homestand against St. Bonaventure on Tuesday, Nov. 25. The Lady Lions hit the road for the first time with the Georgia State Thanksgiving tournament on Friday, Nov. 28 and Sunday, Nov. 30. Joining Penn State at the tournament are first-round opponent Middle Tennessee State, the host Panthers and Samford.

The ACC/Big Ten Challenge is next on the docket for the Lady Lions when they travel to Syracuse on Thursday, Dec. 4, before returning home to meet Wagner on Sunday, Dec. 7. Penn State is on the road again to visit Hartford on Wednesday, Dec. 10 to close out the home-and-home series with the Hawks.

The Lady Lions close out the non-conference slate with home games sandwiched around final exams. Penn State will host Rider on Sunday, Dec. 14 and then welcome South Florida to the BJC on Sunday, Dec. 21.

New season ticket packages will be available beginning September 23 by calling 1-800-NITTANY. Season ticket renewal notices have been mailed and the renewal deadline is September 12. Adult season tickets are $105, youth season tickets are $52 and courtside season tickets are $247. Additionally, the family section season ticket is $80 for adults and $25 for youth.

The Big Ten will announce times and television arrangements at a later date.

After the graduation of a very accomplished senior class, senior forward Tori Waldner (Milton, Ga.) is the top returnee for Penn State. She started every game as a junior and averaged 4.8 points and 5.6 rebounds per game. She also rejected 39 shots a year ago to bring her career total to 89, which is tied for 11th on PSU's career list.

Also returning for the Lady Lions are sophomores Kaliyah Mitchell (Stone Mountain, Ga.) and Peyton Whitted (Suwanee, Ga.). Mitchell is the second-leading returning scoring at 4.5 points per game to go along with 4.4 rebounds per outing. Whitted accounted for 3.6 points and 3.3 rebounds with a .522 field goal percentage in conference play. Overall, she was second on the team in field goal percentage with a .463 mark.

The Lady Lions are on Twitter. Follow sports information contact Kris Petersen (@ladylionsid) and the Lady Lions and coaches (@pennstatewbb) to get the inside scoop. The Lady Lions are also on Facebook at www.facebook.com/pennstateladylions.

 

 

Online Store