Skip to main content Skip to footer
WBB Hosts Wake Forest in B1G/ACC Challenge

Follow PSU Women's Basketball:    

June 28, 2017

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa.; June 28, 2017 – The record books will add another opponent on Thursday, Nov. 30 when the Penn State women’s basketball program welcomes Wake Forest to the Bryce Jordan Center as a part of the 11th Annual Big Ten/ACC Challenge.

Game times, as well as television coverage, will be announced at a later date.

With the addition of Wake Forest, Penn State will now have faced 10 different opponents as a part of the event, which began in 2007. The Demon Deacons join Boston College (twice), Duke, Florida State, Georgia Tech, Miami, North Carolina, Notre Dame, Syracuse and Virginia Tech as opponents in the Big Ten/ACC Challenge.

Penn State is 3-7 in Challenge games, including a victory over Duke in the inaugural event, a record-setting, 103-84, win over nationally-ranked North Carolina in 2011 and a road victory over Boston College last season.

Past B1G/ACC Challenge Highlights
RECAP: Page For the Win at Boston College | RECAP: Lions Roll Tar Heels | RECAP: PSU Downs Duke in Inaugural B1G/ACC Event

The Big Ten/ACC Challenge opponent is the final piece of the 2017-18 non-conference schedule, while the Big Ten slate will be announced at a later date.

In 2016, the ACC claimed the challenge, 9-5, with its wins coming from Duke, Florida State, Miami, North Carolina, North Carolina State, Notre Dame, Syracuse, Virginia Tech and Wake Forest. Penn State, Maryland, Michigan, Northwestern and Purdue all claimed victories for the Big Ten in last year’s event.

The Big Ten and the ACC have long been among the most competitive conferences on the women's basketball scene. The Big Ten sent four teams to the NCAA Tournament in 2017, and four more squads participated in the WNIT, with Michigan bringing home the title.


Wednesday, November 29
Florida State at Iowa
Notre Dame at Michigan
Minnesota at North Carolina
Wisconsin at Pittsburgh
Maryland at Virginia

Thursday, November 30
Ohio State at Duke
Purdue at Georgia Tech
Virginia Tech at Illinois
Louisville at Indiana
Michigan State at Miami
Clemson at Nebraska
Wake Forest at Penn State
North Carolina State at Rutgers
Northwestern at Syracuse




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago