Abbott Named NCAA District II Player-of-the-Year

Follow PSU Men's Golf:    

May 25, 2000; LYNCHBURG, Va.- Penn State golfer Matt Abbott (Endwell, N.Y.) was named the NCAA District II Player-of-the-Year, committee representative Frank Landry of Liberty University announced on Thursday.

A junior, Abbott is a three-time first-team All-District II selection. The 2000 all-Big Ten honoree captured medalist honors at the Rutherford Intercollegiate, firing a tourney-record 67 in the final round. He also won the individual title at the Northern Intercollegiate, beoming the first Nittany Lion to win a Big Ten event.

For the second consecutive season, Abbott's rewritten the scoring average for Penn State, firing an all-time low 73.16 this year. He is just the third Penn State golfer to earn the prestigious honor. He joins Dirk Ayers (1996) and Adam Decker (1997) as Penn State honorees.

"Matt is an excellent competitor and a great ball striker," Penn State head coach Greg Nye said. "He's a very, very hard worker. It's a delight that he won this award."

Joining Abbott on the 12-member all-district team was senior teammate Scott Phillis (Meadville, Pa.). He captured the Navy Invitational title to open the year, shooting two rounds of 69. Phillis fired a career-low 68 in the second round of the Dr. Pepper Intercollegiate.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago