Skip to main content Skip to footer
Redd Added to Maxwell Award Watch List

Follow PSU Football:    

Silas Redd

Oct. 27, 2011

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa.; - Penn State tailback Silas Redd (Norwalk, Conn.) has been added to the watch list for the Maxwell Award, presented annually to college football's player of the year by the Maxwell Football Club.

The talented and elusive Redd has burst onto the college football scene with a standout sophomore season, leading the Big Ten with 869 rushing yards. Last week, in No. 21/19 Penn State's 34-24 win at Northwestern, Redd posted a career-high with 164 rushing yards on just 18 carries (9.1) for his fourth consecutive 100-yard effort. He first Nittany Lion since Tony Hunt in 2006 to achieve that feat. His previous top rushing performance was 142 yards versus Iowa on October 8.

Redd's career-high 164 yards led all Big Ten players last week. His spectacular 42-yard burst late in the second quarter put him over the century mark and was a career-long run. Redd had 119 yards at the half.

Redd has amassed 566 yards on 103 attempts (5.5 avg.) in the last 4 games, an average of 141.5 yards per game. His rushing total is the nation's second highest since October 1, trailing only Western Kentucky's Bobby Rainey (569).

For the season, Redd has a Big Ten-best 869 yards on 165 attempts (5.3 avg.) and six touchdowns. His 108.6 yards per game average ranks No. 3 in the conference and No. 16 in the nation. Redd also is No. 8 in the Big Ten in all-purpose yardage at 112.5 yards per game.

The Maxwell Award is presented in honor of Robert W. (Tiny) Maxwell, legendary college player, official and sports columnist. First bestowed in 1937, the Maxwell Award is celebrating its 75th anniversary in 2011.

Penn State has had more Maxwell Award winners - seven - than any other program in the nation. Rich Lucas was the first Nittany Lion to receive the honor, winning in 1959, and was followed by Glenn Ressler (1964), Mike Reid (1969), John Cappelletti (1973), Chuck Fusina (1978), Kerry Collins (1994) and Larry Johnson (2002).

Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced on October 31 while three finalists will be named on November 21. The winner of the 2011 Maxwell Award will be revealed as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show, which is scheduled for December 8. The formal presentation of the award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah's Entertainment Atlantic City on March 2, 2012.

Penn State (7-1, 4-0) owns a six-game winning streak and hosts Illinois (6-2, 2-2) on Saturday in a pivotal Big Ten Leaders Division clash. Kickoff is set for 3:30 p.m. at Beaver Stadium and the game will be televised on ABC (ESPN2 in outer markets). The clash also will air on the Penn State Sports Network and

Tickets are available for the Illinois game and can be purchased at or by calling 814-865-5555 weekdays from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago