Nittany Lion Club


  • Penn State was No. 6 in the Learfield Sports Directors' Cup standings, earning a school record 1,100 points. The Nittany Lions earned their ninth Top 10 finish in the Directors' Cup survey and their highest finish since placing No. 5 in 2002-03. Penn State is among only nine schools to finish in the Directors' Cup Top 25 all 20 years.
  • The Nittany Lions earned a school record 11 conference championships, including a record eight Big Ten titles. In addition to the Big Ten titlists (see below), the men's lacrosse, women's lacrosse and men's volleyball teams also won or shared their conference championships.
  • The Nittany Lions earned a school-record of eight Big Ten championships, the most of any institution. Penn State's Big Ten champions include women's basketball, field hockey (regular season and tournament), men's soccer, women's soccer, women's outdoor track and field, women's volleyball and wrestling.
  • Penn State has won 81 Big Ten regular season or tournament titles all-time, including 13 in the past two years. The 1993-94 academic year was Penn State's first full year in the Big Ten.
  • Penn State captured five Big Ten Championships in women's basketball, field hockey (tournament), women's soccer, and wrestling (dual season and championship), improving its all-time total to 73 Big Ten titles. Penn State has won 32 Big Ten championships over the past seven years.
  • Penn State had 61 All-Americans and 58 first-team all-conference selections, 49 of whom were first-team All-Big Ten honorees.
  • A total of 21 Penn State programs (out of 31) participated in their respective NCAA Championship in 2012-13 either as a team or by individuals.
  • Penn State has won 12 NCAA Championships since March 2007 (in five sports), tied with USC for most in the nation during the past six years. Penn State has won 23 NCAA Championships since 1993-94, its first full year in the Big Ten Conference, more than double every other Big Ten institution. The Nittany Lions have won 69 national championships all-time.
  • Penn State captured five fall Big Ten titles for the first time since 2005. The Nittany Lions were conference champs in women's soccer, women's volleyball, field hockey (regular season and tournament) and men's soccer.
  • A school record eight Penn State coaches were selected as Big Ten Coaches of the Year: Beth Alford-Sullivan (women's outdoor track and field), Char Morett (field hockey), Bill O'Brien (football), Russ Rose (women's volleyball), Cael Sanderson (wrestling), Erica Walsh (women's soccer), Bob Warming (men's soccer) and Coquese Washington (women's basketball).
  • Seven Penn State student-athletes earned Capital One/CoSIDA Academic All-America® accolades, including three first-team honorees. Penn State's 182 all-time Academic All-America® honorees are the third-highest total among NCAA Division I institutions.
  • 2012-13 Athletic Accomplishments in PDF formatGet Acrobat Reader

      PSU Athletics
      INSIDE: The Fall 2013 Nittany Lion Club Newsletter
      Read More >
      INSIDE: Academic Achievements / Scholarship Situations / Wrestlers Set Standard
      Read More >
      Penn State has 800 studentathletes and 31 varsity sports, but just one team.
      Read More >
      In the 2011 fiscal year, support totaled $82.4 million.
      Read More >
      Facebook Twitter