Jeffrey Field, the home of Nittany Lion soccer and lacrosse, was dedicated on Sept. 29, 1972. Located in the heart of the Penn State athletic facilities complex with a picturesque view of Mount Nittany, the stadium was named in honor of the late Bill Jeffrey, legendary head coach of the soccer program from 1926-52.
To meet the expanding needs of its teams and Penn State fans, Jeffrey Field was first refurbished in 1978. Bleachers with a capacity of 3,500 were added, along with fencing and an adjacent practice field. New lights were added prior to the 1996 season.
During the summer of 2003, Jeffrey Field again underwent a facelift. In addition to the installation of a new field surface, a press box and a video booth were also added, and the bleachers were expanded to a capacity of 5,000. In the next phase, the addition of locker rooms and rest room facilities are planned.
Jeffrey Field has been the host site for numerous NCAA and conference contests in men's and women's soccer and men's and women's lacrosse. Games are frequently televised from Jeffrey Field, allowing a nationwide audience to view Penn State in action.
Widely regarded as one of the finest grass surfaces in the country, Jeffrey Field was honored as the 2006 Collegiate Soccer Field of the Year by the SportsTurf Managers Association.