Skip to main content Skip to footer

Former Nittany Lions with Super Bowl Rings

| 1 Comment | No TrackBacks

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. - Former Penn State greats Jimmy Kennedy and Kareem McKenzie capped off a superb playoff run with the New York Giants by winning Super Bowl XLVI inside Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis on Sunday.

McKenzie claimed his second Super Bowl ring with the Giants, while Kennedy earned his first.  Former Penn State players have been a part of Super Bowl winning teams in 33 of the 46 NFL Championship games.  In all, 35 different former Nittany Lions account for 52 rings.  Take a look at the complete list.


Former Penn State Players with Super Bowl Rings
Jack Ham (4)
Franco Harris (4)
Matt Millen (4)
Pete Kugler (3)
Chris Bahr (2)
Matt Bahr (2)
Bruce Bannon (2)
Dave Robinson (2)
Kareem McKenzie (2)
Rich Milot (2)
Jay Alford
Ralph Baker
Brad Benson
Andre Collins
Sam Gash
Jeff Hartings
Mike Hartenstine
Kim Herring
Tim Johnson
Joe Jurevicious
Jimmy Kennedy
Larry Kubin
Justin Kurpeikis
Ted Kwalick
Shawn Mayer
Sean McHugh
Bob Mrosko
Scott Paxson
Andrew Quarless
Tom Rafferty
Glenn Ressler
Marco Rivera
Jim Romano
Dave Rowe
Matt Suhey

52 rings among 35 players

Former Penn State Players on Super Bowl Winning Teams
- Dave Robinson (Green Bay)
1968 - Dave Robinson (Green Bay)
1969 - Ralph Baker (New York Jets)
1971 - Glenn Ressler (Baltimore Colts)
1973 - Bruce Bannon (Miami Dolphins)
1974 - Bruce Bannon (Miami Dolphins)
1975 - Jack Ham & Franco Harris (Pittsburgh Steelers)
1976 - Jack Ham & Franco Harris (Pittsburgh Steelers)
1977 - Dave Rowe & Ted Kwalick (Oakland Raiders)
1978 - Tom Rafferty (Dallas Cowboys)
1979 - Jack Ham & Franco Harris (Pittsburgh Steelers)
1980 - Matt Bahr, Jack Ham & Franco Harris (Pittsburgh Steelers)
1981 - Chris Bahr & Matt Millen (Oakland Raiders)
1982 - Pete Kugler (San Francisco 49ers)
1983 - Larry Kubin & Rich Milot (Washington Redskins)
1984 - Chris Bahr, Matt Millen & Jim Romano (Los Angeles Raiders)
1986 - Mike Hartstine & Matt Suhey (Chicago Bears)
1987 - Brad Benson (New York Giants)
1988 - Rich Milot (Washington Redskins)
1989 - Pete Kugler (San Francisco 49ers)
1990 - Pete Kugler & Matt Millen (San Francisco 49ers)
1991 - Matt Bahr & Bob Mrosko (New York Giants)
1992 - Andre Collins, Tim Johnson & Matt Millen (Washington Redskins)
1997 - Marco Rivera (Green Bay Packers)
2001 - Sam Gash & Kim Herring (Baltimore Ravens)
2003 - Joe Jurevicious (Tampa Bay Buccaneers)
2004 - Shawn Mayer (New England Patriots)
2005 - Justin Kurpeikis (New England Patriots)
2006 - Jeff Hartings (Pittsburgh Steelers)
2008 - Jay Alford & Kareem McKenzie (New York Giants)
2009 - Sean McHugh & Scott Paxson (Pittsburgh Steelers)
2011 - Andrew Quarless (Green Bay Packers)
2012 - Jimmy Kennedy & Kareem McKenzie (New York Giants)

Follow Media Specialist Tony Mancuso on Twitter @GoPSUTony

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

1 Comment

Great feeling to win one!
Since I have had so many firsts at Penn State. Things like:
On Joe's FIRST team 1966
FIRST pleaser he ever threw off the team
FIRST player he ever reinstated
FIRST player he had drafted into the NFL
Let me be the FIRST to thank you for a wonderful walk down memory lane. The names of these players bring back wonderful memories of playing with and against PSU players in my 13 years of playing in the NFL.
Have a blessed day, you made mine!!
Dave "Hap" Rowe

Leave a comment


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago